Cara Poland MD, MEd, FACP, DFASAM, appointed key committee

The Michigan State Medical Society (MSMS) congratulates Cara Poland, MD, MEd, FACP, DFASAM, on her appointment to Michigan’s new Opioid Advisory Commission. Doctor Polen (Kent County Medical Society), who also chairs the MSMS Task Force on Opioid Stewardship, was nominated by MSMS and appointed by Senate Leader Mike Shirkey (R-Clarklake). Trained in internal medicine at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor and in addiction medicine at Boston Medical Center in Boston, Doctor Poland is known nationally for her work in training physician-level addiction specialists to care for patients with substance use disorders. of substance and alcohol use disorders. Dr. Polen’s leadership was also integral to implementing curriculum changes in medical schools to provide more training in the treatment of individuals with substance use disorders. Board certified in addiction medicine, her clinical focus is working with pregnant and parenting women and their families.

In May, a package of bills (Senate Bills 993, 994 and 995) was passed to facilitate spending of Michigan’s portion of the national opioid regime. Michigan is expected to receive nearly $800 million dollars over the course of 18 years after the settlement. As part of the bill, Senate Act 994 (now Public Act 84 of 2020) established the Opioid Advisory Committee to promote local, state, and federal initiatives and activities related to education, prevention, treatment, and services for people and families affected by disorder. in the use of resources and making financing recommendations to the legislator. The committee is made up of 12 voting members appointed by legislative leadership who have experience in substance use prevention, healthcare, mental health, law enforcement, local government, first responders or similar fields.

As the bills passed through the legislature, MSMS advocated the appointment of health professionals with meaningful experience treating individuals with substance use disorder and/or chronic pain to the committee. on July 21stThe House and Senate leadership announced their appointments to the Opioid Advisory Commission.

The 11 other Commission appointees are:

  • Katherine Hude, Executive Director of the Michigan Association of Treatment Court Professionals
  • Kyle Rambo, CEO of Catholic Social Services of the Upper Peninsula
  • Cameron Risma, Medical Director and Addiction Psychiatrist at Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services
  • Judge Linda Davis, Executive Director of Families Against Narcotics
  • Mario Nanos, President of Families Against Narcotics
  • Patrick Patterson, executive director of Mid-Michigan Recovery Services Inc.
  • Scott Masi, president of United to Face Addiction – Michigan
  • Kelly Ainsworth, project manager for the Greater Flint Health Coalition
  • Bradley Casemore, CEO of Southwest Michigan Behavioral Health.
  • Mona Makki, Director of ACCESS Community Health and Research Center
  • Sarah Stoddard, assistant professor at the University of Michigan School of Nursing


Leave a Comment