Dean of Marshall School of Medicine resigns

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — The Dean of the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine at Marshall University will step down in June.

dr. Joseph Shapiro (Marshall University)

dr. Joseph Shapiro announced on Wednesday that June 30 will be his last day. He will take a permanent position as a faculty at the institution.

“I have had the honor of leading the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine for the past decade and I am very proud of what we have accomplished during that time. However, 10 years is a long time to run a medical school,” Shapiro said in a statement.

Shapiro became dean in March 2012 following the decision of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education to remove the school from probation. Under his leadership, awards have more than tripled and the school has begun new academic programs.

“Joe is a dear friend and dear colleague. I remain eternally grateful for the tremendous contribution he has made to our institution and the science he has guided over these many years, and I wish him the best for his next chapter,” said University President Brad Smith.

According to Smith, there will be a nationwide campaign to find Shapiro’s successor. dr. Bobby Miller, the vice dean of medical education, will serve as interim dean beginning July 1.

Leave a Comment