Ottawa storm: These Ottawa schools are closed on Thursday

Dozens of schools in Ottawa will remain closed on Thursday as hydroelectric plants continue to restore power after Saturday’s storm.

The Ottawa Carleton District School Board and the Ottawa Catholic School Board have said there will be “limited” school bus service. Check the OSTA website for details.

Here’s a Look at School Closures in Ottawa’s School Boards


The Ottawa public school board says 30 schools without power will remain closed on Thursday.

There will be limited school bus transportation, according to the OCDSB. More than 120 school bus routes to open public schools in Ottawa will be canceled Thursday. Check the OSTA website for details.

Here is a list of closed schools within the OCDSB on Thursdays:

  • Agincourt
  • High Display
  • Arch Street
  • Bell High School
  • Bells Corners
  • briar green
  • Blossom Park
  • Brookfield
  • Castor Valley
  • Charles H. Hulse
  • Confederation
  • D. Roy Kennedy
  • Dunlop
  • Elizabeth WynWood
  • Featherston Drive Public School
  • Fielding
  • Hillcrest
  • Manordale
  • manotic
  • Meadows
  • Merivale High School
  • OCV
  • Pinecrest
  • Ridgemont High School
  • River View AS
  • Richmond Public School
  • Rockcliffe Park
  • Sawmill Creek
  • Sir Winston Churchill
  • South Carleton


The Ottawa Catholic School Board says all schools with power will be open Thursday, but 14 without power will remain closed. The schools are:

  • Frank Ryan
  • Our Lady of Peace
  • Sacred Heart
  • St. Andrew
  • Saint Bernard
  • St. Daniel
  • St Gemma
  • St. Gregory
  • St. Isidore
  • St. Leonard
  • St Michael (437 Donald Street)
  • St Monica
  • St. Philip
  • St. Rita

St. Monica School suffered “severe roof damage” during the storm and will be closed for the rest of the week.

The Ottawa Catholic School Board says all schools open on Thursdays will offer extended daytime programs.

There is limited school bus transport on Thursdays. Eighty-five bus routes to Catholic schools in Ottawa were canceled on Thursday.


Ottawa’s French Catholic school board says three schools will be closed on Thursday.

  • Laurel Career
  • St. Bernadette
  • Land-of-youth


Ottawa’s French public school board says four schools will remain closed on Thursday due to power outages.

The four schools are:

  • Charlotte Lemieux
  • Gabrielle Roy
  • Marie Curie
  • Omer Deslauriers

Closed schools will not offer virtual learning on Thursday.

All other schools and nurseries are open.

Leave a Comment