OZZY OSBOURNE Announces ‘Patient Number 9’ Album, Shares Title Track

Ozzy Osbourne will release his new album, “Patient Number 9”on Sept 9. The title track of the LP, with a guest appearance by the legendary guitarist Jeff Beck, can be streamed below. Comic book artist and creator Todd McFarlane directed the music video for the song, which premieres Friday (June 24) at 10 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. PT.

“Patient Number 9” tracklist:

01. Patient number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. No escape from now on (feat. Tony Iommi)
05. One of those days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. Mister Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
08. nothing feels right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Relegation rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead and gone
12. only God knows
13. Darkside Blues

Last year, Ozzy told SiriusXM that the lyrics for “Patient Number 9”which he co-wrote with producer Andrew Wattwere inspired by his relationship with his wife and manager, Sharon

“The song is about a mental institution”, Ozzy said.

On the track, Osbourne sings: “When they call your name, better run and hide / Tell you you’re crazy, you believe their lies / I ain’t getting out, no I ain’t getting out alive / I ain’t getting out” because I’m patient number 9.”

Regarding Hint‘s contribution to the song, Ozzy said: “Have someone like Jeff Beck playing on my album is just incredible, a total honor. There is no other guitarist who plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient number 9’ is just overwhelming.”

As for his renewed collaboration with IommiOzzy said: “It was really great working with Tony† He’s the riff master. In that respect, no one can touch him. I only wish we had these songs for BLACK SABBATH‘s ’13’ album.”

“Patient Number 9” will feature a performance by RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smithwho played on Ozzy‘s last studio album, 2020 “Ordinary man”

last March, Smith revealed during an interview with the “Talking is Jericho” podcast that the new Ozzy album would also be released Robert TrujilloMETALLIC) and Duff McKaganGUNS N’ ROSES

Chad went on to say that “the English royalty of guitarists” has been recruited to guest on Osbournehis new album. †Tony Iommic and Ozzy never collaborated outside BLACK SABBATH,” he said. “Tony sent us a bunch of riffs and we took what we thought was best, which was damn awesome. So Andys on the bass does a damn great job – the bass on the track is awesome. And Tony sent us the riffs files; he’s in England – and we played on it. It has damn everything. It has all the things you could want. Ozzy loves it. And so he’s on that track. Then Eric Clapton plays a damn wah-wah CREAM-type solo. We are, like,’Eric, can you solo on this song? Wah-wah, please. Eric, what do you think about this, with the wah-wah?’ Because that’s his damn thing. And so he’s soloing on this other song. Then Jeff Beck is on two songs. We tried to get Jimmy page [LED ZEPPELIN]we tried to get the holy trinity but i don’t think so Page plays too much unfortunately. But Mike McCready‘s [PEARL JAM] on a track. Josh Hommemy neighbor out QUEENS [OF THE STONE AGE], solos on a track. And then Zakk Wylde [BLACK LABEL SOCIETY] is also on the record, everywhere. So it’s like being a guitarist [it’s] damn good.”

Last year, Ozzy confirmed that 15 songs had been recorded for his sequel to “Ordinary man”† In October he said: Metal hammer magazine that his new album will be “similar in tone to” ‘Ordinary man’, but I can’t quite describe it. I haven’t heard it in a while because it keeps going to the next person to add his or her parts – we’re on it all the time,” he said.

Watt connected to Osbourne after meeting Ozzy‘s daughter Kelly at a friend’s party and pitch her on the idea of Post Malone and Ozzy to collaborate.

Dec 2020, Watt told Guitar World That Ozzy‘s next album would feature guest appearances from some notable musicians. “There are a lot of people involved,” he said. “I can’t say for sure until the end, but I started making some basic tracks with Chad and Robert Trujillowho used to play Ozzythe band. And Taylor Hawkins [FOO FIGHTERS] also came in and played some on the record too, adding a different flair – it kind of harked back to Ozzy80s era, in a great way. And I think it’s so cool for a rock fan to be able to listen in on half an album Chad Smith on drums, and then you turn it around and you get to hear Taylor Hawkins† And you know, the last album was really special for everyone involved. And so it made no sense Ozzy or that I do this again, unless we thought we could bring something new to the table. And I feel like we’re achieving that.”

Leave a Comment