Some prolific artists are going to create murals for the new Metro Tunnel stations

Five world-class artists have been selected to create large-scale permanent artworks for each of the Metrotunnel’s new metro stations.

The artworks are still under development in a process involving the artists, station architects and engineers, and will be unveiled before the opening of the Metrotunnel in 2025 – a year ahead of schedule.

What you need to know

  • The artists who will create large-scale permanent artworks for the stations of the new Metro Tunnel have been revealed
  • The artists in question are Abdul Abdullah, Patricia Piccinini, Danie Mellor, Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, Raafat Ishak and Maree Clarke
  • The metro tunnel will open in 2025

Keep up to date with Melbourne’s latest art events, exhibitions and performances here.

The artists were chosen after a rigorous process by an expert advisory panel of leading figures from Victoria’s creative industries. The artists are:

Abdul Abdullah (Arden Station) – a multidisciplinary Australian artist whose work focuses on the experiences of others. Abdullah’s work has been featured in exhibitions at international and Australian museums and galleries, including the National Gallery of Australia

Patricia Piccinini (Parkville Station) – an internationally acclaimed Melbourne artist who represented Australia in the 50′e Venice Biennale, Piccinini’s work explores the boundaries between the artificial and the natural and what it means to be human

Danie Mellor (State Library Station) – Mellor’s work explores the landscape and relationships between First Nations and non-Indigenous cultures, and is held in galleries including the National Gallery of Australia and the British Museum

Rafael Lozano-Hemmer (City Hall Station) – Lozano-Hemmer is a Mexican-Canadian artist whose work is known for fusing architecture, technology and public participation. His work is held by institutions around the world, including Mona in Hobart and the National Gallery of Victoria

Raafat Ishak (Anzac Station) – Melbourne native Ishak’s work focuses on the history of painting and architecture. He is Head of Painting at the University of Melbourne’s Victorian College of the Arts.

They join Yorta Yorta/Wamba Wamba/Mutti Mutti/Boonwurrung artist Maree Clarke, who was announced in 2020 as the artist to have commissioned a work encompassing all five new subway stations.

The artworks and architectural design features of the new stations will become new landmarks in the city’s cultural fabric, giving Melburnians and visitors the chance to experience world-class art and design every day.

The tube tunnel will create capacity for more passengers across Melbourne’s rail network and bring locals and visitors to the doorstep of iconic Melbourne cultural institutions, including The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia, ACMI and the Arts Center Melbourne.

For more info, go here.

Leave a Comment