What does “iPhone discoverable after power off” mean?

If you shut down your iPhone and see the “iPhone discoverable after turning off” message, you may be wondering what this means. Here’s an explanation – and how to disable it if you want.

How does it work?

As of iOS 15, certain recent iPhone models (such as iPhone 13) can be remotely located while turned off thanks to the Find My network and the Find My app. This is possible because the iPhone, even when turned off, supplies a small amount of reserve power to the Bluetooth, UWB and NFC chips. This feature makes it easier to find a lost iPhone even if the battery is dead.

If you turn off iPhone on supported devices, you will see the message “iPhone discoverable after turning off” on the “Slide to turn off” screen.

The "iPhone discoverable after turning off" message on iPhone
Benj Edwards

If you tap the “iPhone discoverable after power off” link, you’ll see a pop-up menu where you can temporarily disable the feature by tapping “Temporarily turn off search.”

Tap "Temporarily disable Search."
Benj Edwards

After that, the “Discoverable after power off” feature will be disabled until the next time you turn on your iPhone. But if you want a more permanent solution, read on.

RELATED: Turn off an iPhone

How to Disable “Discoverable After Power Off” on iPhone

If you’d rather have your iPhone untraceable when it’s turned off, you can turn it off in Settings. First, launch the Settings app.

In Settings at the top, tap your Apple ID name.

In Settings, tap your Apple ID.

In the Apple ID settings, select “Find My”.

Tap "Find my."

Under Find My, tap Find My iPhone.

Tap "find my iphone" or "Find my iPad."

In Find My iPhone options, tap the switch next to Find My Network.

Put the switch next to "Find my network."

Select ‘Disable’ in the pop-up warning message that appears.

Warning: If you turn off Find My Network Here, you won’t be able to locate your iPhone remotely if it’s offline (not on Wi-Fi or cellular), low on power, or turned off.

Tap "Turn of."

After that, “Find My Network” will be disabled and you will no longer be able to use “Find My” to locate your iPhone when it is turned off. Good luck, and stay safe out there!

RELATED: Unsubscribe from Apple’s “Find My” Network on iPhone, iPad, and Mac

Leave a Comment